New Implementations on EA missions

19 Dec

The new missions features have gone into effect.  

My status on the EA platform is one of the plain Jane variety.  I just cannot justify paying for the upgraded versions at this time.  (I support the platform by making the occasional purchase)  

I can no longer run a regular mission (now a Legacy mission) with a reward over 10K.  I have to run a Scaled mission to offer such a reward.  (not sure if this is different if I upgraded.  Haven’t bothered to look it up, as I’m not looking for EA’s insights, I’m looking for yours)

I would love to know your thoughts concerning these new Mission changes.  Do you feel a reward over 10K has a detrimental effect on the platform?  Have you created one of the new Scaled Missions, and if so how do you feel about it?

I believe I’ve run 2 Scaled Missions, and experienced very limited participation on them.  So little, that I’ve simply abandoned that version.

Have a great holiday season and a prosperous New Year!

Bill and friends of Bewitched in Salem

17 Responses to “New Implementations on EA missions”

  1. thetangovideos December 19, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    Hi Bill …. first off …. thanks for letting us have a say here….. second …. if we were coming to EA today… we would think that it is just normal … and we should just get on with life…. others that have been around a ‘bit’ … don’t like it… we hate change !!!!!…. have’ing said that I hate it….. why can’t I pay you an amount that I think is worth it…. and not some scale amount that big EA thinks you should get…..

    Scott Conner send me here ….

    http://blog.empireavenue.com/2013/12/17/changes-to-eaves-legacy-missions/

    …but I think it just a lot of corp. talk …to sound like we know what we are doing…..

    ….has any one from EA ask us……???????

    BET NOT!!!!!

    again thanks for letting me go on…..Duncan

    • bewitched in salem December 22, 2013 at 2:54 am #

      Thank you for commenting Duncan.

      Change is usually good, and we’ll just have to wait and see!

  2. awesomeopp December 20, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    I ran a scaled mission and had fewer transactions than the fixed reward. Not real sure I like it.

    • bewitched in salem December 22, 2013 at 2:42 am #

      Thank you for your observation Awesomeopp.

      I’m starting to examine others scaled missions to see their participation rates.

  3. Adrian December 20, 2013 at 2:43 am #

    Thanks for starting this discussion Bill.

    With so many changes going on at EAv, I believe it is hard for most of us to really understand and keep up with all of them. If certainly feels like a company that’s not listening and relying on the loyalty of the user base to keep doing what we do.

    It also seems that we’ve gone from having hardly any pie upgrades to basically now coming out at a rapid rate. I can only assume this is driven by the need to bring in more finance but goes against the grain, IMO, of being concerned about Eaves inflation.

    In terms of the cap on legacy missions, I don’t understand why this has been done but still think 10k missions are generous.

    • bewitched in salem December 22, 2013 at 2:29 am #

      Thank you for your response Adrian.
      I agree with you on the upgrades.

      It seems to me that a lot of individuals are not doing missions anymore. I hope these new changes do not drive more people to stop participating.

  4. HansjörgLeichsenring (@HLeichsenring) December 20, 2013 at 5:16 am #

    I really do not like the so called imporvements. They are another change to the worse in EAV.
    After all those changes in the last months, the fun is going away. They better should ask the users in advance, at least they should listen to their comments….

    Cheers from Germany

    Hansjörg
    http://www.der-bank-blog.de

    • bewitched in salem December 22, 2013 at 12:44 am #

      Thank you for your response Hansjorg.
      The fun going away seems to be a shared opinion of many a seasoned player. We shall see how it all plays out.

  5. Kimberly J Castleberry December 20, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    I’m relatively new (fresh face) to the platform so I’m seeing the changes in the middle of learning the platform.

    My thoughts so far have been:

    1) Even though I have very strong social profiles… scaled missions punish me because my data is not yet in the system… so I’m avoiding them. Why should I take a piddly amount of reward?

    2) Capping Legacy mission pricing doesn’t make much sense to me… although I have a bit of a theory on that one… see next point…

    3) My understanding of scaled missions is that they use a minimum and maximum payout value and aware the payout percentage based on your e score….. Sooo…. to work around this… I “predict” that we will see players setting the minimum and maximum scaled values at only 10 eves difference, if that’s possible… while still using a high rewarding mission… but using a scaled as an imitation legacy. These mission owners would need to note this in their mission notes. That’s a hack for sure but one that could work.

    4) At the end of the day, I think this will be “water under the bridge” because of people doing work arounds. We may feel that the loss of high value mish penalizes those that don’t have much time which is true… but those mish are only lost to newbies who may or may not have any social clout at all in the first place. I fully understand why the system doesn’t want to give a high value reward to a novice that has no social influence… one just has to keep an eye on making sure that the novice remains able to play, able to grow, and able to stay in the game… even if it’s not as fast as before when they were getting access to some rewards they maybe didn’t deserve.

    Kim

    • bewitched in salem December 22, 2013 at 12:35 am #

      Thank you very much for your in depth response Kim.
      I had not given thought to gaming the system, and I imagine that will indeed occur.
      It always takes time to get through changes. It will be interesting to see what comes with the new year.

    • bewitched in salem December 22, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      Just set up a scaled mission. We can’t make the rewards that close as you had mentioned. With reward starting at 10k the higher side starts at 20k. So much for gaming the situation.
      Time will tell

  6. milieunet December 21, 2013 at 4:17 am #

    My thoughts: it sucks completely, the fun is really gone

    • bewitched in salem December 21, 2013 at 11:35 pm #

      Thank you for your response Erik.
      The fun for me has been waning and these changes may bring it’s demise more swiftly.

  7. Harold Gardner December 21, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    Seems sort of lousy to me. I would hate to join EA at this time. The changes seem to be toward making sure the folks at the top of the leaderboard stay there; rather than encouraging new players. What kind of sense does a scaled mission make for buying shares?

    • bewitched in salem December 21, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

      Thank you Harold.

      It indeed makes no sense to me. It will be interesting to see how things shake out in the new year.

  8. JM December 21, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    Feels like EA is a work in progress & seems like these sort of things will shake out eventually

    • bewitched in salem December 21, 2013 at 11:38 pm #

      Thank you JM. It is indeed a work in progress and needs to be so lest the platform collapse.

Leave a Reply

