ASIDE FROM FOOD AND MASTURBATION…

27 May

Hello everybody!

     I imagine my title woke you up, and I hope what follows doesn’t put you back to sleep.  On this beautiful day I find myself once again turning a simple blog post reply of Thank You, into a blog post of my own.  

     I am actually looking for your answers to the following question.  In your mid to late teens, what was a passion that completely enthralled and absorbed your being?

     In my mid teens I was turned on to something that combined two of my many passions, Gaming and Computers.  It was an  RPG (Role Playing Game for those unfamiliar) created by Philip Price titled Alternate Reality – The City of Xebec’s Demise. It turned me into a drone.  Hour after hour, switching back and forth between multiple floppy disks where an entire weekend became a blurry haze.

Oh how I miss that level of stamina (NOT). 48+ hour power sessions fueled by 5 or 6 2-liter bottles of Coke, 3 to 4 packs of Marlboro Menthol, and if we could pull ourselves away long enough to get to the telephone a pie from the local Pizzeria and Mozzarella sticks. Then pondering how Friday afternoon turned into Monday morning faced with the awful decision of replenishing the Coke and cigarettes for an additional run at the game or going to school!

The following 2 decades saw my circle of gaming friends moving south one by one and online gaming technological advancements soar. Most of them began gaming online together and they tried to pull me in. I politely declined all, because I knew that the REALITY of a platform that never sleeps It would be EXTREMELY hard to pull myself away from an “Alternate Reality”

Enjoy
Bill, Lynn, and Friends of Bewitched!
(e)BIS

7 Responses to “ASIDE FROM FOOD AND MASTURBATION…”

  1. Decibel Places May 27, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    In the late 70s my obsessions were punk rock, drugs, guitar, drugs, and getting a double major with honors at Brown University – and drugs – and working in my organic food coop – oh yeah, electronic music, which naturally led to – can you guess it? drugs

    [I haven’t done drugs in many years, not even pot – outgrew it I guess – but I’m STILL obsessed with a lot of the other stuff]

  2. vperriello May 27, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Bill — for me the timeframe was 1969-1973. There was a computer at the school with an attached teletype that wasn’t doing a heck of a lot. The school I went to was a boarding school, I was a “day” student, we typically arrived about 7:30 AM and left at 5 or 6 PM to accomodate extracurricular activities. This gave me about 5 hours a day in the computer room.

    There were a few people who did a little of this and that… in my case that started with writing a blackjack program, continued with hacking the program that implemented the language we most we using… and that was the beginning of everything for me.

  3. abacnok May 27, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I never got into gaming in my teens for the simple reason that there were none when I was in my teens. I spent my teen years fishing and working on cars, but mostly fishing. Many weekends were spent by the light of a camp fire and eating nothing but what I caught or shot. There were a great many different animals that are good eating and easy to clean and cook. My Dad started taking me with him when he went fishing on the weekends when I turned 4 years old and we never took anything but some salt and pepper, some cooking oil, and a loaf of bread. Ahh, those were the times, my friend.

  4. skip bieber May 27, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    my trash80 didn’t have RPG 😦 I had to settle for soda-pop, pong and tank!!!!

  5. Wayne Mansfield May 28, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Not sure “Bait and switch” headlines do you work any justice… it just put me off!!

  6. The Divine Miss White May 28, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    The point you make about being sucked in to alternate realities online is well made. Whatever the game, the temptation to sit at the screen, is all too seductive.

  7. john philpin May 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Reblogged this on Fractal ReBlogs and commented:
    Eye catching headline 🙂

Leave a Reply

